Sample Page

Name of the Malaysian flag: Jalur Gemilang

The Malaysian flag is a horizontal rectangle with a length-to-width ratio of 2:1. The main part is composed of 14 red and white stripes of equal width. In the upper left corner is a dark blue rectangle with a yellow crescent and a yellow star with 14 pointed angles. The 14 red and white stripes on the Malaysian flag symbolize the 13 states and the government of Malaysia. The crescent represents the Malaysian people’s faith in Islam, and the 14-pointed star represents the unity of the 13 states and the government of Malaysia. The blue rectangle represents the unity of the people and indicates Malaysia’s relationship with the Commonwealth (the British flag is also blue), and yellow symbolizes the head of state. In 1997, on the 40th anniversary of Malaysia’s independence, Prime Minister Mahathir named the flag “Brilliant Stripes | Jalur Gemilang.”

Malaysia is a country with an area of 330,000 square kilometers and a population of about 30 million people. The ethnic composition of the country is 68.1% Malays and other indigenous people, 23.8% Chinese, and 7.1% Indians. Malay is the official language of the country, and English is also widely used, and Chinese is also common. The main religion in the country is Islam, and other religions include Buddhism, Hinduism, and Christianity. The capital is Kuala Lumpur, and the country is divided into 13 states and 3 federal territories. Malaysia’s National Day is on August 31, and the currency unit is the Malaysian ringgit.

The country has many ancient kingdoms in history, such as the Kingdom of Gangga and Nalasoh in the Malay Peninsula. In the early 15th century, the Kingdom of Malacca unified most of the Malay Peninsula. Subsequently, the region was occupied by Portugal, the Netherlands, and Britain. In 1911, Malaysia became a British colony. Sarawak and Sabah historically belonged to Brunei until 1888 when they became a British protectorate. On August 31, 1957, the Federation of Malaya became independent, and then merged with Singapore, Sarawak, and Sabah in September 1963 to form Malaysia (Singapore withdrew on August 9, 1965).

Malaysia Public Holidays 2024

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis
& Terengganu
14 Jan Sun YDPB Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday Negeri Sembilan
15 Jan Mon YDPB Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday Holiday Negeri Sembilan
25 Jan Thu Thaipusam Johor, Kedah, Kuala
Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan,
Penang, Perak, Putrajaya
& Selangor
1 Feb Thu Federal Territory Day Kuala Lumpur, Labuan
& Putrajaya
8 Feb Thu Israk and Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan,
Perlis & Terengganu
10 Feb Sat Chinese New Year National
11 Feb Sun Chinese New Year Holiday National
12 Feb Mon Chinese New Year Holiday National except Johor
& Kedah
20 Feb Tue Independence Declaration Day Melaka
4 Mar Mon Installation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
12 Mar Tue Awal Ramadan Johor, Kedah &
23 Mar Sat Sultan of Johor’s Birthday Johor
28 Mar Thu Nuzul Al-Quran National except Johor,
Kedah, Melaka, Negeri
Sembilan, Sabah &
29 Mar Fri Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak
10 Apr Wed Hari Raya Aidilfitri National
11 Apr Thu Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday National
26 Apr Fri Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday Terengganu
1 May Wed Labour Day National