The British flag, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the London Eye

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, referred to as the UK, is located on the British Isles in the northwest of the European continent and is surrounded by the North Sea, the English Channel, the Celtic Sea, the Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. The land area is 244,100 square kilometers. The UK is divided into four parts: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, and the capital is London.

The British flag has a pattern like the character “mi”, which is in the shape of a horizontal rectangle, consisting of a deep blue background and a red and white “mi” character. Among them, the red cross with white edges represents St. George, the patron saint of England, the white cross represents St. Andrew, the patron saint of Scotland, and the red cross represents St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland.

The UK is located in Western Europe and has a temperate maritime climate, controlled by the prevailing westerlies, with mild and humid weather throughout the year, and relatively little change in the four seasons throughout the year. The usual maximum temperature does not exceed 32 degrees Celsius, and the minimum temperature does not fall below -10 degrees Celsius. The average temperature in January is 4-7 degrees Celsius, and in July it is 13-17 degrees Celsius.

The four seasons in the UK each have their own characteristics, and each season has a unique travel experience. If you come to the UK to travel in spring, you will just catch up with the blooming season in the UK. The temperature in spring is moderate, and when you come here, you can enjoy the blooming of cherry blossoms, azaleas, tulips and other flowers, and the scenery of the countryside will also be very beautiful and charming. Exploring the rural scenery of the UK in spring is very suitable.

The UK is the global financial center, the largest net exporter of financial services, and also one of the four major economies in Europe. In this country full of historical charm and cultural heritage, whether it is natural landscapes or cultural heritage, it will bring us a unique sense of experience. Let’s have an exciting journey to the UK together.

01 The Gate of London: Tower Bridge
Tower Bridge is an open suspension bridge located in the British capital London and spanning the Thames River. There are 15 bridges built across the Thames River, and Tower Bridge is the first bridge starting from the Thames estuary. Tower Bridge is one of the landmark buildings in London, and its unique design and spectacular bridge towers have made it one of the representative attractions in London.

The two banks of the Tower Bridge are made of granite and steel high towers, about 60 meters high, and are divided into upper and lower floors. The upper part supports the towers on both sides, and the lower deck allows pedestrians to pass through and can also be used for vehicles to pass through. When a huge ship sounds its horn and comes, the lower deck will automatically tilt to both sides, and at this time, pedestrians can change to pass through from the upper floor. And there are four stone towers connected at both ends of the bridge, and the two main towers are 35 meters high, square and thick, looking from a distance like two crowns, magnificent.

Inside this bridge, there are also shops and bars, so even on rainy and snowy days, people can shop, chat or look at the scenery on both sides of the river in the bridge. While walking on the bridge and enjoying the scenery on both sides of the Thames River, you can also visit the Tower Bridge Museum to learn about the history of the bridge and the engineering miracle.

02 Millennium Wheel: The London Eye
The London Eye, full name the British Airways London Eye, is located on the banks of the Thames in London, UK. It is the world’s first and also the largest observation ferris wheel until 2005. It is a landmark and famous tourist attraction in London. The London Eye opened at the end of 1999, and at that time, the sponsor was British Airways. It was built to celebrate the new millennium, so the London Eye is also known as the “Millennium Wheel”.

The London Eye has a total of 32 cabins, numbered from 1 to 33, but because of religious taboos, there is no number 13. The inside and outside of the cabin are made of tempered glass, and it is also equipped with an air conditioning system. Each cabin can carry about 25 passengers, and it takes about 30 minutes for one round.

From the London Eye, tourists can overlook the magnificent scenery of the entire London city. At night, the London Eye will turn into a blue halo, adding a dreamy color to the Thames River. The London Eye also lit up for the British general election in 2015, with red lights representing the British Labor Party, blue representing the Conservative Party, purple representing the UK Independence Party, and yellow representing the Liberal Democrats.

03 Gothic architecture: The Elizabeth Tower
The Elizabeth Tower, formerly known as the Bell Tower, commonly known as Big Ben, is located on the banks of the Thames in London, UK. It is an attached bell tower of the Palace of Westminster of the United Kingdom Congress, and it is also a landmark building in London. The British London Big Ben is designed in the Victorian Gothic style and is installed on a 95-meter-high clock tower on the west side of the Westminster Bridge in the north of the conference building.

The dial of the clock is set in a 23-inch (about 7 meters) diameter iron frame, supported by 312 cat’s eyes, and the dial is also gilded for decoration. This clock tower is one of the world-famous Gothic buildings. Every time during the parliamentary session, the face of the clock will emit light, and it will sound the time once every hour according to Greenwich time.

04 The most beautiful corner: Lake District National Park

The Lake District National Park is known as the most beautiful corner of England. This park has both beautiful and quiet natural scenery and various leisure and entertainment facilities. The lakes, mountains and rural scenery here form a beautiful picture. These unique and unparalleled sceneries have also inspired the creation inspiration of many writers and poets, and Wordsworth (William Wordsworth) and Beatrix Potter have both written beautiful poems and articles here.

It is worth mentioning that the Lake District is one of the national parks with the largest population of residents in the UK, and the main settlements are Keswick, Windermere, Ambleside and Bowness-on-Windermere. In addition, there are villages such as Grasmere, Sleeked, Coniston and others. The National Geographic magazine of the United States selected the Lake District in England as “one of the 50 places to go in a lifetime”, and the reason for being selected is: The people and nature coexist in a good and complementary way, which is a classic. In 2017, according to the criteria for selecting natural heritage, the Lake District in England was approved by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee as a natural heritage and included in the World Heritage List.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours